Trust the Trustworthy One Part 3 of 3

Posted on July 5th 2007 – Thursday

Trust the Trustworthy One Part 3 of 3

WHERE OUR TRUST CAN SAFELY BE PLACED:

 

We can trust in God’s word to us.

Ps. 119:42 = So shall I have an answer for him who reproaches me, For I trust in Your word.

 

We can Trust in Christ.

Matt. 12:17–21 = that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by Isaiah the prophet, saying: “Behold! My Servant whom I have chosen, My Beloved in whom My soul is well pleased! I will put My Spirit upon Him, And He will declare justice to the Gentiles. He will not quarrel nor cry out, Nor will anyone hear His voice in the streets. A bruised reed He will not break,  And smoking flax He will not quench, Till He sends forth justice to victory; And in His name Gentiles will trust.”

 

We can trust in God’s Holy Name.

Ps. 33:21 = For our heart shall rejoice in Him, Because we have trusted in His holy name.

WHAT NOT TO PLACE OUR TRUST IN:

 

Trust should not be placed in ‘weapons’.

Ps. 44:6 = For I will not trust in my bow, Nor shall my sword save me.

 

Trust should not be placed in ‘wealth’.

Ps. 49:6, 7 = Those who trust in their wealth And boast in the multitude of their riches, None of them can by any means redeem his brother, Nor give to God a ransom for him—

 

Trust should not be placed in ‘leaders’.

Ps. 146:3 = Do not put your trust in princes, Nor in a son of man, in whom there is no help.

 

Trust should not be placed in ‘man’.

Jer. 17:5 = Thus says the Lord: “Cursed is the man who trusts in man And makes flesh his strength, Whose heart departs from the Lord.

 

Trust should not be placed in ‘works’.

Jer. 48:7 = For because you have trusted in your works and your treasures, You also shall be taken. And Chemosh shall go forth into captivity, His priests and his princes together.

 

Trust should not be placed in ‘self-righteousness’.

Ezek. 33:13 = “When I say to the righteous that he shall surely live, but he trusts in his own righteousness and commits iniquity, none of his righteous works shall be remembered; but because of the iniquity that he has committed, he shall die.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deadseascrolls.wordpress.com/2007/07/05/trust-the-trustworthy-one-part-3-of-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

