Who do I serve, Christ or Me?

Saturday, March 24, 2007 

1If then you were raised with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ is, sitting at the right hand of God. 2Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth. 3For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.Colossians 3:1-3 NKJV

1If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God. 2Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.  3For ye are dead, and your life is hid with Christ in God. Colossians 3:1-3 KJV

This week’s devotional will once again involve tracing some specific words, within these few verses, backward to their original Greek language. There is so much to be gained from a deeper look at each word, into the fullness of their intended meaning.

Risen – KJV: 4891.from 4862 and 1453; to rouse (from death) in company with, i.e. (fig.) to revivify (spiritually) in resemblance to:— raise up together, rise with.

     If we have taken that eternal plunge and given our hearts and lives over to the care of Jesus, then we have been spiritual revived and brought to life. Spiritually, we were very much dead but now we are alive. Yet, do we act alive? If we are not keeping company with Jesus, with regularity, we need to question if we are acting upon our spiritual aliveness. Then we need to examine too what degree we are alive; which can easily be spotted by our resemblance to Christ. Therefore, let us move toward joining together in constant fellowship with Christ; that we might see these things manifest in our daily life.

Set your affections – KJV:5426.from 5424; to exercise the mind, i.e. entertain or have a sentiment or opinion; by impl. to be (mentally) disposed (more or less earnestly in a certain direction); intens. to interest oneself in (with concern or obedience):— set the affection on, (be) care (-ful), (be like-, + be of one, + be of the same, + let this) mind (-ed), regard, savour, think.

     We are called upon to make a conscience and deliberate choice to place our minds and our actions through obedience, upon Christ and His Will for us. His Will for both us as His people and more specifically as an individual. We are to regard the things of eternal value as much more important than the things of tangible value. Yet, materialism rules the earth. Often, we see this sin of materialism very strongly among Christian. The newest and latest of everything is a must. The car must only be a few years old. Do I have the largest television available in flat screen? Does my house impress? It does not matter if these things are needed or even functional, for the needs of a specific family. All that really seems to matter, even to Christian, is whether they have “X” or not. Why does this happen? Because the earth, the world, the things of the world; own them.

Ye are dead – KJV: 599.from 575 and 2348; to die off (lit. or fig.):— be dead, death, die, lie a-dying, be slain (× with).     

     Then there are those precious few who know what it is to die. You can be one of those sold out for Christ Christians! Who know, day in and day out, it is not about them. It is about Christ and Christ’s Will for their life. Doing, serving, being, and having what glorifies Christ. They care only, anymore, with impressing one Person; Jesus. They are truly dead, in every aspect, and hid in Christ for that eternal moment, when His Redemption will reach it fullness.

It is unavoidable that next week’s devotional, 30th of March, will not be posted. However, a new one will appear the following week around Friday, the 6th of April.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://deadseascrolls.wordpress.com/2007/03/24/who-do-i-serve-christ-or-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].

    Peace Be With You
    Micky

  2. Micky,

    Thank you so much for sharing your testimony, it will be a blessing to many people. Jesus does have the answers to release us from the chains that bind us. I am so pleased to read that He has done that for you. When we get self out of the way and allow Jesus to take over so many hindrances fall to the waste side.


Leave a Reply

